Round 2…grammar, buying and selling drums and Terry Bozzio

Yay me! Way to hit the ground running with a new blog then let it sit there all by its lonesome waiting weeks to crank another post out. Good thing no one but me (and the husband) is reading this yet! I mean really, how can I follow that fabulous piece of writing that made up the first post? (I am being very sarcastic here BTW) So today, I’d like to cover a subject near and dear to everyone’s heart- grade school grammar. No not really, although I’ll warn you, there are going to be some references to it.

So guess what I found out? I am not smarter than a 4th grader y’all! (at least not when it comes to underlining the parts of speech in a sentence that are commonly misused or spelled wrong) The nephew needed help with his school work and being the nice auntie that I am I volunteered my services because 1) he was staying with us that day, 2) hey it’s 4th grade – how hard can it be? And C) they didn’t give me that valedictorian title for nothing all those years ago! Oooh how the mighty fall! [insert picture of me with a puzzled look on my face here] “It must be a misprint in the book son, because all those sentences look correct to me!” (…and I’m writing a blog – Lord help us!) But we persevered and things were underlined and work was completed and I slunk back to my grammatically challenged corner and pondered how much of a country bumpkin I sound like when I write. But it’s cute and endearing right?? Besides I can drive a car and a 4th grader can’t, so we’re even! But I digress…

So borrowing the words of Ron White, I told you that to tell you this (yes, it actually has something to do with drums- I promise!) We may not be great in using the English language correctly at our house, but we do know a few things about drums and cymbals. Here’s an example of what we see over and over in our personal buying and selling of drums and equipment. Just last week we were knocking around on eBay looking at cymbals (yes that’s cymbals with a “C” not symbals or symbles or symbols!) and found a great deal on “Paite” cymbals. Now, before we go all crazy thinking there’s a new company on the horizon, look again. Yep one MIA letter “S” kept that dude from selling his “Paiste” cymbal for a lot more money. (sad for him, but cool deal for whoever stumbled upon it and snapped it up) What’s my point here? Proofreading is our friend! The squiggly red and green lines all over your document in Word don’t mean Microsoft decided to decorate for Christmas early! If you’re gonna sell something, at least know how to spell it and describe it correctly—not only will you look smarter, but it will most likely get you more money! And, another spelling related tip: if you’re looking for something on eBay- try typing in misspellings! It could mean a great deal on a “Paite Symble”. 

Here’s something else we see from time to time – confusing descriptions. We personally have a lovely kit at home consisting of the following:

(Actually there’s a lot more pieces than just these, remember I live with drummers – they come with lots of accessories – cowbells, zil-bels, sleigh bells? But again I digress….)

bass drum

1 high tom

1 floor tom

Snare

High hats

Crash

Ride

Looking at the list above many people on the ‘ol Craigs List describe this as a 7 piece kit and that’s ok right? Not so fast. I’ve been recently educated (thanks hunny!) on what to call out when listing a kit- yes there might be 7 total things, but it would be better and more proper drum lingo to list it as a 4 piece kit (pieces referring to the drums only) that way there’s no confusion among people thinking there are 3 more drums hiding somewhere not pictured or listed. Another note on what not to list as a “piece” is a cymbal stand or drum stand. If it’s metal and it has legs and other adjustable parts, it would more accurately fall under the heading of hardware. So be wary of that “awesome deal” on a “20 piece kit”! Not only is the seller’s description of the deal as “awesome” up for interpretation, chances are unless you’re looking at a kit belonging to Terry Bozzio, that piece count probably isn’t true either. 

So, to conclude, spelling and word usage – it’s not just for 4th grade anymore! Use it or lose it and try not to let the little kids outsmart you!

Leave a Reply

